The mission of the Counseling Department at Archbishop Riordan High School is to assist students in maximizing their personal, spiritual, and intellectual growth. 

2016-17 Counseling Department Directory
Division Counselor Location Email Ext.
Class of 2020 Mr. Aguilar Rm. 4 jaguilar@riordanhs.org 502
Class of 2019 Mr. Arias Rm. 3 darias@riordanhs.org 224
Class of 2018 Mrs. Vincent Rm. 2 vvincent@riordanhs.org 225
Class of 2017 Mr. Lin Rm. 1 dlin@riordanhs.org 504
College Counseling Mrs. Nagar College Room mnagar@riordanhs.org 241
Mrs. Martinez College Room vamartinez@riordanhs.org
Ms. Roberts lroberts@riordanhs.org
 Academic Support Counselor  Sister Joy Giovannoni  Rm. 9  jgiovannoni@riordanhs.org  220

 

Personal Counseling Services (upon request or as needed)

  • Individual counseling to address problems of a personal or specific nature
  • Drop-in hours before school, at munch, lunch and after school
  • Parent conferences and referral resources
  • Specialized support groups as needed
  • Information for students on topics related to mental health
  • Crisis intervention counseling
  • Resources for parents with questions about adolescent development issues
  • Academic Counseling Services


General Academic Counseling

  • Graduation requirements
  • Additional opportunities outside the school day
  • Resources for tutoring services in the community
  • Standardized testing on National Testing Day
    Collaboration with certified counselors to provided educational assessments when needed


College/Career Services

  • Research strategies for college requirements and programs
  • A-G requirements
  • College, university and trade/technical school visits
  • Scholarships and financial aid
  • College Application workshops
  • Naviance Online System
  • Visit our College Counseling website here


Counseling Department Staff
The Counseling Department is staffed with experienced counselors that are committed to success of students. The Head of College Counseling provides additional support to upper division students through the college search and application process. A part-time Counseling Intern is on staff to work with students and families to provide additional support.  An supplement Academic counselor provides additional support to students who are in the MAP program and also on academic probation or ineligibility.