School Leadership

Andrew Currier, President
Andrew T. Currier began his tenure as President of Archbishop Riordan High School in July 2017. He is the fourth President of Riordan.

Mr. Currier comes to San Francisco with extensive administrative experience in Catholic education, having served as principal at St. Joseph’s Catholic School in Beltsville, Maryland for four years before taking on his current role as principal at St. Adalbert School in South Bend, Indiana in 2012.

The son of a Vice Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard and graduate of an all-boys high school, Currier has embraced the opportunity to lead Riordan at a time when the school has experienced a steady increase in enrollment, a spike in its fundraising efforts, and widespread support from the greater San Francisco community.

Currier’s strong academic background will serve him well in his new position. He attended Grand Valley State University in Michigan on a baseball scholarship, obtaining his BA in English Literature before matriculating to the University of Notre Dame, where he received his MEd in secondary education in the renowned ACE (Alliance for Catholic Education) program. Currier is currently pursuing his Ph.D. in Catholic Educational Leadership from Catholic University of America in Washington, D.C.; his research focuses on Catholic intellectual tradition.

Along the way, Currier has served as a baseball coach for a nationally-ranked high school team, has taught at schools on both coasts (in Florida and in south central Los Angeles), and was an English instructor at Paul VI Catholic High School in Fairfax, Virginia.

Mr. Timothy Reardon, Principal
Tim Reardon joined Archbishop Riordan High School in 2017. He is a lifelong educator and has served as an English teacher, basketball coach, and Alumni Director. At his previous school, St. Ignatius, he served as a member of key school committees including two terms on WASC, a Discipline Board member, a member of the Admissions Committee, as well as two years on the Principal’s Advisory Board.

Reardon is a native San Franciscan and attended Saint Cecilia School and Saint Ignatius. He earned an undergraduate degree from the University of Notre Dame where he competed as a varsity men’s baseball player and as an amateur boxer. Reardon also earned a master’s degree in education from San Francisco State University. An accomplished author, he has penned two critically-acclaimed books: Shadow Lessons (2010) and Part of the Game (2014).

Michael O’Brien, Dean of Academics
Michael O’Brien works closely with faculty to create an environment where knowledgeable and passionate educators engage, inspire and lead by example. At Riordan he oversees curriculum development, the integration of technology into the learning process, professional development, and other teaching initiatives. Mr. O’Brien is also an English and Science instructor; his courses often explore the intersection of the natural and literary worlds. He earned a BS in Botany and a BA in English from UC Davis, and a MA in English from Humboldt State University.

Juan Zumbado ‘98, Dean of Students
Juan Zumbado is in his third year as Dean of Students at Riordan. Drawing on his own experience as a Crusader, he works closely with students, parents and faculty to foster a positive culture where learning can thrive. It is his goal to guide students to become well rounded, thoughtful and faith-filled young men. Mr. Zumbado graduated from University of San Francisco with a BA in Economics and earned a MA in Diplomacy from Norwich University in Vermont.

Board of Trustees

The Archbishop Riordan High School Board of Trustees works closely with school leadership to provide strategic advice and counsel relative to school planning, facilities, finance, institutional advancement, and other areas of the school. Board members represent many parts of the Archbishop Riordan community, including alumni, parents, the Marianist community, and business and education leaders.

2017-2018 Board Members

Mr. Michael Mayer ’71 – Chair
Mr. Steven Herrera ’76 – Vice Chair
Mr. Daniel Donovan ’70 – Secretary
Capt. William E. Best, USNR (Ret.)
Bro. David Betz, SM
Bro. William Bolts, SM ‘53
Mr. Philip Cazahous ‘70
Mr. Tom Christian
Mr. Michael Conley
Mr. Andrew Currier
Hon. Robert Dondero ‘63
Mr. David Esser
Mrs. Marie Fitzpatrick
Ms. Kathy Grogan
Hon. Jeffrey Holl, Esq. ‘72
Mr. Kevin Holl ’75
Ms. Pamela Lyons
Mr. Stephen Mayer ‘72
Mr. Tommy Morris
Mr. John Palmer
Mrs. Elizabeth Peregrino
Justin P. Quock, MD, FACP
Ms. Alona Sandoval-Grenacher
Mr. Joe Silvestri ‘74
Mr. Brian Spiers ‘75
Mr. Gerald Lucey ‘61 – Member Emeritus